{
  "schema_version": "0.1",
  "target_standard": "/data/state-data-standard.json",
  "last_reviewed": "2026-09-10",
  "coverage": {
    "primary_confirmed_project_records": 7,
    "unresolved_record_groups": 1,
    "claim": "This is a reviewed starting set, not a complete Indiana census. Hobart is excluded from normalized project denominators until its legal-entity relationship is resolved.",
    "unit": "project record confirmed by a primary source, not individual buildings and not necessarily approved",
    "exclusions": "Colocation facilities and additional proposed campuses remain in the candidate queue until matched to a primary record."
  },
  "method_note": "Each project enters this ledger only after a primary government, regulatory, contractual or first-party project record confirms it. First-party values remain labeled as claims. Unknown never means zero.",
  "projects": [
    {
      "id": "aws-new-carlisle",
      "profile_url": "/projects/aws-new-carlisle/",
      "name": "AWS New Carlisle",
      "place": "New Carlisle",
      "county": "St. Joseph",
      "developer": "Amazon Web Services",
      "operator_or_tenant": "Amazon Web Services; New Carlisle is one site in the multi-site Project Rainier cluster",
      "stage": "Operating; expansion continues",
      "stage_basis": "Amazon says the multi-site Project Rainier compute cluster is operational and identifies New Carlisle as one site; this does not establish completion of the entire New Carlisle campus buildout.",
      "announced_investment": {"value": "$11 billion", "kind": "government-reported company baseline", "scope": "original New Carlisle campus", "reported_outcome": "$13.8 billion reported by AWS-linked 2026 accounts; eligible-capital and placed-in-service scope not independently reconciled"},
      "permanent_jobs": {"value": "at least 1,000", "kind": "announced baseline", "observed": "AWS-linked 2026 reporting says nearly 1,000 operations staff; the Chamber project page says 1,056 full-time AWS employees. Project-specific CF-1 and payroll definitions are not yet reconciled."},
      "power": {"value": "not stated in the reviewed state agreement summary", "kind": "unknown"},
      "cooling_water": {"value": "An AWS-authored 2026 account says outside air is used about 98% of the year and estimates approximately 18 million gallons annually at full buildout. This is not current metered use, a permit quantity or a potable-water figure.", "kind": "company design and projection + evidence gap"},
      "incentives_commitments": "50-year state sales-tax exemption term; up to $98.3M in listed state credits/grants; up to $7M road contribution; benefits described as performance-based.",
      "next_check": "Reconcile investment placed in service, observed employment, local tax flows, water permits and utility cost allocation.",
      "evidence_status": "Investment and employment company-reported as delivered; independent compliance reconciliation pending",
      "sources": [
        {"label": "IEDC project announcement", "publisher": "Indiana Economic Development Corporation", "kind": "government announcement", "published": "2024-04-25", "url": "https://iedc.in.gov/events/news/details/2024/04/25/gov.-holcomb-announces-amazon-web-services-plans-to-invest-11b-to-create-a-new-data-center-campus-in-northern-indiana"},
        {"label": "Project Rainier operating update", "publisher": "Amazon", "kind": "company operating claim", "published": "2025", "url": "https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/aws/aws-project-rainier-ai-trainium-chips-compute-cluster"},
        {"label": "AWS economic-development manager operating account", "publisher": "South Bend Regional Chamber", "kind": "AWS-authored opinion", "published": "2026-07-09", "url": "https://www.sbrchamber.com/news/2026/07/09/default/amazon-s-investment-is-building-lasting-opportunity-for-st.-joseph-county/"},
        {"label": "AWS project page", "publisher": "South Bend Regional Chamber", "kind": "chamber-published project summary", "published": "current as reviewed 2026-09-10", "url": "https://www.sbrchamber.com/pages/aws-economic/"}
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "google-fort-wayne",
      "name": "Google Fort Wayne",
      "place": "Fort Wayne",
      "county": "Allen",
      "developer": "Google",
      "operator_or_tenant": "Google",
      "stage": "Operating; site development continues",
      "stage_basis": "I&M stated that it energized the site in November 2024 and Google began operation.",
      "announced_investment": {"value": "$2 billion", "kind": "government-reported company plan", "scope": "Fort Wayne data center"},
      "permanent_jobs": {"value": "up to 200", "kind": "announced", "observed": "not yet reconciled"},
      "power": {"value": "contract-specific value not established in this ledger", "kind": "unknown"},
      "cooling_water": {"value": "Cooling architecture, source-water mix and measured consumption are not established in the reviewed records.", "kind": "unknown"},
      "incentives_commitments": "35-year state sales-tax exemption for at least $800M eligible capital, with extensions tied to additional eligible investment up to 50 years.",
      "next_check": "Obtain water permits or utility records and compare observed employment and eligible investment with the announced values.",
      "evidence_status": "Operating confirmed",
      "sources": [
        {"label": "IEDC project announcement", "publisher": "Indiana Economic Development Corporation", "kind": "government announcement", "published": "2024-04-26", "url": "https://www.iedc.in.gov/events/news/details/2024/04/26/gov.-holcomb-announces-google-is-building-a-2b-data-center-in-northeast-indiana"},
        {"label": "I&M verified petition", "publisher": "Indiana Michigan Power / IURC", "kind": "utility regulatory filing", "published": "2025-07-30", "url": "https://iurc.portal.in.gov/_entity/sharepointdocumentlocation/11beffd0-736d-f011-bec3-001dd803db57/bb9c6bba-fd52-45ad-8e64-a444aef13c39?file=_IndMich_Verified+Petition_073025.pdf"}
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "meta-jeffersonville",
      "name": "Meta Jeffersonville",
      "place": "Jeffersonville",
      "county": "Clark",
      "developer": "Meta",
      "operator_or_tenant": "Meta",
      "stage": "Nearing completion — state-reported February 2026",
      "stage_basis": "IEDC described the campus as nearing completion in February 2026; operation is not marked delivered here.",
      "announced_investment": {"value": "$800 million", "kind": "government-reported company plan", "scope": "approximately 700,000-square-foot campus"},
      "permanent_jobs": {"value": "approximately 100", "kind": "announced operational jobs", "observed": "not reconciled; enforceable delivery deadline not established"},
      "power": {"value": "not established in the reviewed primary records", "kind": "unknown"},
      "cooling_water": {"value": "Architecture and measured water use are not established in the reviewed primary records.", "kind": "unknown"},
      "incentives_commitments": "35-year state sales-tax exemption for at least $800M eligible capital; performance-based according to IEDC.",
      "next_check": "Confirm commercial operation, actual staffing, eligible capital placed in service and local fiscal outcomes after opening.",
      "evidence_status": "Nearing completion — state reported",
      "sources": [
        {"label": "IEDC project announcement", "publisher": "Indiana Economic Development Corporation", "kind": "government announcement", "published": "2024-01-25", "url": "https://iedc.in.gov/events/news/details/2024/01/25/gov.-holcomb-announces-meta-to-build-an-800m-data-center-campus-in-indiana"},
        {"label": "IEDC Lebanon groundbreaking release", "publisher": "Indiana Economic Development Corporation", "kind": "government status update", "published": "2026-02-11", "url": "https://iedc.in.gov/events/news/details/2026/02/11/gov.-braun-breaks-ground-on-10b-meta-data-center-campus-at-leap-district"}
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "microsoft-la-porte",
      "name": "Microsoft La Porte",
      "place": "La Porte",
      "county": "LaPorte",
      "developer": "Microsoft",
      "operator_or_tenant": "Microsoft",
      "stage": "Groundbreaking reported",
      "stage_basis": "Microsoft reported a June 2026 groundbreaking; operations have not been verified.",
      "announced_investment": {"value": "$1 billion", "kind": "government-reported company plan", "scope": "245,000-square-foot first announced campus"},
      "permanent_jobs": {"value": "2024 state announcement: up to 200 by end of 2032. June 2026 Microsoft update: more than 600 permanent Microsoft jobs in first phase.", "kind": "two announced claims with different scopes", "observed": "not yet reconciled"},
      "power": {"value": "not established in the reviewed primary records", "kind": "unknown"},
      "cooling_water": {"value": "Microsoft says the campus will use closed-loop liquid cooling. Evaporation, source-water mix, permitted quantities and measured use are not established.", "kind": "company design claim + evidence gaps"},
      "incentives_commitments": "35-year state sales-tax exemption for at least $1B eligible capital, with possible extensions tied to additional eligible investment; local and NIPSCO incentives referenced but not yet reconciled.",
      "next_check": "Retrieve the city incentive agreement and NIPSCO terms; determine whether the 200-job and 600-job statements reflect changed scope, phases or definitions before grading either claim.",
      "evidence_status": "Groundbreaking reported; claims require reconciliation",
      "sources": [
        {"label": "IEDC project announcement", "publisher": "Indiana Economic Development Corporation", "kind": "government announcement", "published": "2024-06-04", "url": "https://iedc.in.gov/events/news/details/2024/06/04/gov-holcomb-announces-plans-for-new-1b-microsoft-data-center-in-northwest-indiana"},
        {"label": "Microsoft groundbreaking update", "publisher": "Microsoft", "kind": "company status update", "published": "2026-06", "url": "https://local.microsoft.com/blog/microsoft-breaks-ground-on-la-porte-datacenter-project/"}
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "meta-lebanon",
      "profile_url": "/projects/meta-lebanon/",
      "name": "Meta Lebanon",
      "place": "Lebanon / LEAP District",
      "county": "Boone",
      "developer": "Meta",
      "operator_or_tenant": "Meta",
      "stage": "Under construction",
      "stage_basis": "Meta and IEDC reported a February 2026 groundbreaking; the underlying community-payment agreement has not been reviewed.",
      "announced_investment": {"value": "more than $10 billion", "kind": "company plan", "scope": "up to six phases"},
      "permanent_jobs": {"value": "approximately 300", "kind": "company projection", "observed": "not reconciled; enforceable deadline not established"},
      "power": {"value": "1 GW designed capacity once operational", "kind": "company design claim"},
      "cooling_water": {"value": "Meta says closed-loop liquid cooling will recirculate water and use zero cooling water for most of the year; no operating result exists yet.", "kind": "company design claim"},
      "incentives_commitments": "35-year state sales-tax exemption for at least $1B eligible capital with extensions; $1.5M annual city impact payment for each completed phase; Meta says it will invest more than $120M in water and other infrastructure.",
      "next_check": "Obtain the underlying impact-payment and utility agreements; track each phase separately and test Meta's ratepayer and water claims after operation.",
      "evidence_status": "Groundbreaking reported; payment commitment announced",
      "sources": [
        {"label": "Meta project announcement", "publisher": "Meta", "kind": "company announcement", "published": "2026-02-11", "url": "https://about.fb.com/news/2026/02/metas-new-data-center-lebanon-indiana-marks-milestone-ai-investment/"},
        {"label": "IEDC groundbreaking release", "publisher": "Indiana Economic Development Corporation", "kind": "government announcement", "published": "2026-02-11", "url": "https://iedc.in.gov/events/news/details/2026/02/11/gov.-braun-breaks-ground-on-10b-meta-data-center-campus-at-leap-district"}
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "coreweave-hammond",
      "profile_url": "/projects/coreweave-hammond/",
      "name": "CoreWeave / Digital Crossroads expansion",
      "place": "Hammond",
      "county": "Lake",
      "developer": "Decennial Group / Digital Crossroads",
      "operator_or_tenant": "CoreWeave",
      "stage": "Existing DX-1 operating; proposed CoreWeave expansion agreement expired",
      "stage_basis": "Hammond says the separate development agreement expired after required milestones were not satisfied by the June 30, 2026 deadline. The existing DX-1 facility remains operating.",
      "announced_investment": {"value": "multibillion-dollar", "kind": "city description; no precise amount established", "scope": "450,000-square-foot expansion"},
      "permanent_jobs": {"value": "35 to 90 positions paying more than $75,000", "kind": "city-council projection for proposed expansion", "observed": "not delivered; due status not established because the expansion agreement expired"},
      "power": {"value": "180 MW", "kind": "city-reported project specification"},
      "cooling_water": {"value": "Not established in the reviewed city release.", "kind": "unknown"},
      "incentives_commitments": "The expired agreement referenced Community Impact Payments. No payment is treated as delivered without evidence that it came due and was paid.",
      "next_check": "Archive and extract the expired agreement, determine which milestones failed, and monitor any replacement development proposal separately from the operating DX-1 facility.",
      "evidence_status": "Expansion agreement expired and expansion not delivered; existing facility operating",
      "sources": [
        {"label": "Hammond development-agreement release", "publisher": "City of Hammond", "kind": "municipal announcement", "published": "2025-06-10", "url": "https://www.gohammond.com/hammond-approves-development-agreement-for-new-data-center/"},
        {"label": "Hammond Common Council minutes", "publisher": "City of Hammond", "kind": "municipal meeting record", "published": "2025-06-09", "url": "https://www.gohammond.com/document_library/meeting_minutes_and_agendas/city_council/2025/06-09-25_minutes.pdf"},
        {"label": "Hammond agreement-expiration release", "publisher": "City of Hammond", "kind": "municipal outcome record", "published": "2026-07-01", "url": "https://www.gohammond.com/hammond-announces-expiration-of-data-center-development-agreement/"},
        {"label": "Digital Crossroad Indiana facility", "publisher": "Digital Crossroad", "kind": "operator facility disclosure", "published": "current as reviewed 2026-09-10", "url": "https://digitalcrossroad.com/data-centers/indiana-data-center/"}
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "dcblox-indianapolis",
      "name": "DC BLOX Thunderbird",
      "place": "Indianapolis",
      "county": "Marion",
      "developer": "DC BLOX",
      "operator_or_tenant": "DC BLOX; phase-two use not defined",
      "stage": "Final local approval reported; construction not verified",
      "stage_basis": "WFYI reported that the Metropolitan Development Commission approved the scaled-back proposal on July 15, 2026. The developer page still describes evaluation/permitting; construction is not treated as started.",
      "announced_investment": {"value": "$1.8–$2.0 billion", "kind": "developer estimate", "scope": "two buildings across two phases"},
      "permanent_jobs": {"value": "small on-site team; number not disclosed", "kind": "developer description", "observed": "not applicable"},
      "power": {"value": "revised critical IT load not stated; developer says it reduced the design by 28 MW", "kind": "company design update"},
      "cooling_water": {"value": "Developer claims closed-loop cooling and water use comparable to a commercial building; no permit or measured quantity has been reconciled.", "kind": "company claim"},
      "incentives_commitments": "Publicly submitted statement of commitments is linked by the developer; local approval and enforceable terms require independent extraction.",
      "next_check": "Verify local disposition, extract the filed commitments and air/water documents, and separate peak construction jobs from permanent staffing.",
      "evidence_status": "Local approval reported",
      "sources": [
        {"label": "Thunderbird project page and submitted documents", "publisher": "DC BLOX", "kind": "developer project disclosure", "published": "current as reviewed 2026-09-10", "url": "https://www.dcblox.com/indianapolisdatacenter/"},
        {"label": "East side data center wins approval", "publisher": "WFYI Public Media", "kind": "independent local reporting", "published": "2026-07-15", "url": "https://www.wfyi.org/wfyi-news/2026-07-15/east-side-data-center-wins-approval-despite-community-opposition"}
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "amazon-hobart",
      "name": "Amazon / Hobart Owner LLC project",
      "place": "Hobart",
      "county": "Lake",
      "developer": "Hobart Owner LLC (relationship under review)",
      "operator_or_tenant": "Amazon Data Services named in city agreements",
      "stage": "Local agreements approved; construction status unresolved",
      "stage_basis": "City archives list 2026 tax-abatement and enterprise-IT exemption agreements and a 2025 sewer-service process.",
      "announced_investment": {"value": "not established in the reviewed city index", "kind": "unknown", "scope": "61st Avenue / Colorado-area project"},
      "permanent_jobs": {"value": "not established in the reviewed city index", "kind": "unknown", "observed": "not applicable"},
      "power": {"value": "not established in the reviewed city index", "kind": "unknown"},
      "cooling_water": {"value": "A sewer-service agreement is referenced; cooling architecture and consumption are not established.", "kind": "unknown"},
      "incentives_commitments": "City records name real-property tax abatements, an enterprise IT exemption agreement and a community enhancement agreement; amounts and entity obligations still require extraction.",
      "next_check": "Resolve Hobart Owner LLC, Amazon Data Services and any developer relationship before attributing investment, capacity or outcomes.",
      "evidence_status": "Unresolved record group — excluded from normalized count",
      "sources": [
        {"label": "Hobart City Council resolution archive", "publisher": "City of Hobart", "kind": "municipal record index", "published": "2025–2026", "url": "https://www.cityofhobart.org/Archive/37"},
        {"label": "Hobart Sanitary District agenda", "publisher": "City of Hobart", "kind": "municipal agenda", "published": "2025-12-30", "url": "https://www.cityofhobart.org/AgendaCenter/ViewFile/Agenda/_12302025-2500"}
      ]
    }
  ],
  "candidate_queue": [
    {"name": "Vantage IN11", "place": "Pittsboro", "reason": "Local public-hearing record located; approvals, site scope and current status still need reconciliation."},
    {"name": "Takanock Goshen", "place": "Goshen / Elkhart County", "reason": "Third-party lead only; no project-level primary record accepted yet."},
    {"name": "Prologis Shelbyville", "place": "Shelbyville / Shelby County", "reason": "Third-party lead only; developer, tenant and local approval chain need confirmation."},
    {"name": "Sentinel Hebron", "place": "Hebron / Lake County", "reason": "Third-party lead only; project identity and status need primary confirmation."},
    {"name": "New Haven project", "place": "New Haven / Allen County", "reason": "Third-party lead only; owner, status and utility relationship unresolved."},
    {"name": "Brazil project", "place": "Brazil / Clay County", "reason": "Third-party lead only; owner, approvals and project scope unresolved."},
    {"name": "Sabey Decatur Technology Park", "place": "Indianapolis / Marion County", "reason": "Official planning staff report and minutes located; project terms and final disposition still need extraction into the normalized ledger."},
    {"name": "Metrobloks Martindale-Brightwood", "place": "Indianapolis / Marion County", "reason": "Local approval reported; primary case file, exact scope and pending litigation need reconciliation."},
    {"name": "AWS Wheatfield", "place": "Wheatfield / Jasper County", "reason": "County records and reporting located; owner, project scope, approval state and utility relationship need normalization."}
  ],
  "third_party_discovery": [
    {"source": "Cleanview", "reported_count": 157, "unit_note": "Page mixes operating and planned projects and exposes building-level records.", "url": "https://cleanview.co/data-centers/indiana"},
    {"source": "Baxtel", "reported_count": 135, "unit_note": "Commercial market page calls these facilities and separately enumerates provider sites.", "url": "https://baxtel.com/data-center/indiana"},
    {"source": "DataCenterMap", "reported_count": 125, "unit_note": "Commercial directory lists data centers across 13 Indiana markets.", "url": "https://www.datacentermap.com/usa/indiana/"}
  ]
}
